Author Topic: lighting design?  (Read 8026 times)

BlueRidgeSM

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Community Theatre
lighting design?
« on: May 31, 2011, 11:43 am »
If this post needs to be moved, please do so, I wasn't exactly sure where to put it...

So in my quest to support myself full-time doing theatre (or at least derive a greater part of my income from theatre vs. my day job) I was emailing back and forth with a gentlemen in the next town over about his theatre project that he hopes to get off the ground this winter.  I have actually never met this person, but he was a connection from a few years ago and he emailed me on the off chance I'd be interested in his new project.  I am, and we started talking schedules, time committment, etc...

And then he says most of the work they could give me would be in lighting design.  And I had to reply back and say "um, sorry, I'm not an LD, I'm a stage manager."  I honestly don't know why he thought I did lighting?  But this is something I've run into before.  Sometimes I feel like I say "stage manager" to prospective employers and they hear "lighting designer" and then we waste a lot of time going back and forth until I realize the misconception and spell it out for them in black and white - I am not a lighting designer.  And interest drops off, and I don't hear from them again.  I think in my region stage managers are largely seen as a luxury, especially for smaller start-up theatres and theatre groups, but everyone needs a lighting designer.