• SM Expert
    • View Profile
    • bridgetwoodbury.com
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance SM
  • Experience: Professional
SMA
« on: Jan 19, 2008, 02:44 pm »
Sorry if this has been covered before. If so, just point me to the thread, but I'm wondering if it's worth it to join the SMA as an associate. I am a student stage manager at the University of Maryland, but I'm also applying for professional work and working with professional directors/actors in a university setting. What would the benefits of joining be and are there any costs?
Thanks!
Bridget

Amy877

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • http://www.amycthompson.com
  • Affiliations: AGMA/AEA
Re: SMA
« Reply #1 on: Jan 19, 2008, 06:02 pm »
It's totally worth it.  Do it. 

Benefits:  They have great job postings from all over the country.  The postings come to you via email, instead of you having to search.  They're mostly theatre gigs (though opera and other gigs pop up too), and cover a wide range of experience levels from entry positions to union SM jobs.  Then, there's Operation Observation, where you can observe a stage manager on a production; it's fun, and a great networking tool.  You also get access to the contact sheet of members (many SMs have links to their resumes), and emails about SM Drink Nights and related social events.

Costs:  It's only $30 for a year at the Associate level.  In contrast, ArtSearch, which is postings for a variety of arts-related jobs/internships, costs $40 for 6 months of online access, $60 for the full year, and $75 if you want the print version as well. 

In the beginning, I had full-year subscriptions to both, but let ArtSearch lapse a few years back, and haven't missed it. 

smejs

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA, SMA, USITT
  • Current Gig: Freelance SM in Denver
« Reply #2 on: Jan 20, 2008, 04:13 am »