Author Topic: Equity SMs: Running LX?  (Read 7362 times)

charcoaldabs

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Equity SMs: Running LX?
« on: Feb 28, 2008, 12:48 am »
Hello SM Network.  Let me first apologize if this is in the wrong forum, I'm a new member.  I'll give the basic new member speech:  I am a high school student with a passion for theatre production/design.  I live in Philly.  I'm not an SM, and I haven't been lurking here.  However, I do have a question that pertains to equity SMs.

I've had some experience in regional theatre here in Philly, and had sorta assumed that what appears to be SOP here was the case in other cities.  However, after conversing with the ME of a regional theatre out west, I see that this is not always the norm.  I know that in at least two regional theaters in Philly the equity SMs also run the light board.  I'm sure this topic must have been debated here before, so I don't want to bring up previously covered topics.  However, I was hoping you equity SMs out there could give me an idea of how common this is.

Thanks,
Charlie

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Equity SMs: Running LX?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 28, 2008, 09:43 am »
Having the Equity SM running a light board is NOT SOP.

In fact, depending on the specific contract, it's a big a no-no.

On the other hand, it can be negotiated for an extra fee.

In fact, right out of grad school I took over a long running show on cabaret contract.  It was a good money.  On top of my regular salary, I was paid, I think, $150.00 more to run the light board (push go), and do up to 3 hours of maintenance on the show.  (Otherwise I can contact an overhire).  I was a sweet gig, and gave me a little extra money.

But it is not the SOP.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -