Author Topic: AEA Stage Manager...can they PA on AEA shows?  (Read 6901 times)

Bkstgboy

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Center Theatre Group
  • Experience: Professional
AEA Stage Manager...can they PA on AEA shows?
« on: Jul 10, 2008, 02:47 am »
I have a dilemma.  First of all, I am an AEA stage manager and have worked in several Equity contracts.  I was offered a chance to PA on a new musical that is going to run at a LORT house in California before going to Broadway right after.  I believe every union actor/SM will be on the production contract.  I told them I couldn't do it because I'm Equity.  They responded that I could in fact do it and that there is no rule that says I can't take the job.  Now, this show already has a whole AEA SM team in place, so I know that by taking the PA job I am not cheating anyone out of what should be a union position.  And it would be an amazing experience to work on a world premiere musical before hitting Broadway. 

After conferring with other stage managers, I've heard there may be an exception for Broadway shows.  I've heard that I would be breaching my own agreement with Equity.  I've also heard that Equity doesn't care unless they're not getting the money they should from the producers.  There doesn't seem to be an agreement on what sort of path I should take.  Should I take the job?  Would I get in trouble?  Will pigs ever fly?  So many questions!    ???

J

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
Re: AEA Stage Manager...can they PA on AEA shows?
« Reply #1 on: Jul 10, 2008, 08:51 am »
Contact Equity. That's the best way to get answers regarding questions like this.