Author Topic: What about my dog?  (Read 6046 times)

SMAshlee

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Porchlight Music Theatre
  • Experience: Professional
What about my dog?
« on: Nov 12, 2012, 11:45 am »
I've been thinking about this for awhile now... My husband is an actor, I'm a stage manager, and we have an awesome dog.  If we get summer work (which is the goal), who will take care of our dog?  Can he go with us?

So, do any of you out there have experience taking your dog with you on tour or to summer stock?  Did you have to provide your own housing or did your company manager accommodate for your furry friend?  Is it really feasible to care for a pet while doing summer stock?

Thoughts/suggestions/stories of your travels are welcome!

Thanks,
Ashlee

LizzG

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: First National Tour
Re: What about my dog?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 12, 2012, 12:14 pm »
Dogs are generally not allowed on tour.  BUT, I've seen it done and it was a big hassle for the actor who had one.  The actor who had one was not allowed to bring it on the tour bus (he would fly when we bussed), but brought it on our company flights (and was responsible for paying for separate fees and checking with all the airlines ahead of time).  Also, the actor had to call all the hotels ahead of time and arrange for the dog, and pay any fees that he incurred because of it.

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
« Reply #2 on: Nov 12, 2012, 12:18 pm »
I am dealing with this right now - I have two dogs, and one can stay at home with my husband - the other is a little more of a handfull, and my husband can't care for - so he needs to travel with me.