Author Topic: Are there any AEA SM moms?  (Read 7295 times)

BayAreaSM

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • Bay Area SM
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: VP, Operations in AV Events
  • Experience: Professional
Are there any AEA SM moms?
« on: Jul 06, 2010, 09:38 pm »
Hi all -

In my 6 years as an AEA Stage Manager, I've yet to come across a female SM who has had kids. I've met guys, and several actresses, but no female stage managers. I'm turning 31 this November, and my OB/GYN has told me that 35 is my cut-off for child bearing. I was kind of all for it, until my husband brought up a good point: the hours. Would I really want to be working 12 hour days while my child is growing up? I didn't really think of it that way because with my current gig I am a resident SM and only work long hours during tech and performances. Otherwise, it's just Monday-Friday 9am-6pm, which isn't all that bad.

So, has anyone out there done it? Was it hard? Do you recommend it? I really want advice from people in my field, because those that don't do this for a living really don't understand it, the hours or the requirements.

Many thanks,
Les

Jessie_K

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
    • International Stage Manager of Mystery
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA, SMA (on leave)
  • Current Gig: Queen of the Night
Re: Are there any AEA SM moms?
« Reply #1 on: Jul 07, 2010, 04:11 am »
I personally do not have any children and have met only a few female SMs with children.  However, I do work with one now.  She has two teenage children and worked as an SM, TD or PM throughout their lives.  She even took them on tour with her.

I asked her how she did all this and she simply said that she did what she needed to do.  Of course it was hard, but parenting is always hard.  She managed to balance being a mom and choosing priorities at work.

If you have kids, your priorities will shift no matter what kind of job you have. 

dallas10086

• View Profile