Author Topic: What is SM Paperwork?  (Read 5721 times)

BlueRidgeSM

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Community Theatre
What is SM Paperwork?
« on: Jun 13, 2011, 10:14 am »
Mod Note:  This topic split from thread SM: P&M:  Gratuitous Paperwork-Rebbe

Paperwork is one of those things I think I missed out on, never having had a formal education in stage management (I have a degree in theatre but there was no SM class at my university so I am pretty much self-taught).  I often wonder what people mean when they talk about all this "paperwork".   :)

For every show, I create a contact sheet with actor's info and another one with the contact info for the tech crew.  I email out rehearsal reports and performance reports (one theatre I currently work with had never had a SM do this before and they were floored when I sent daily emails - and now they require all SMs to do this!).  But that's really about it as far as things I create for every single show I do.

If we have a strong props person/crew, I usually let them handle props paperwork.  If not, I might create a preliminary prop chart and let them embellish/edit as needed.  Ditto for running crew re: set changes.  If there is no running crew (yes, I have done shows where it's me, the actors, and a director - I run lights/sound and there is no technical staff backstage) I will often create a set change list for the actors and post backstage.  If the show is long/complicated/with a lot of scenes, I will also post a scene list backstage for the actors.  Other shows I've found this isn't necessary (like the one I'm doing now, with five actors and four scenes and they are all onstage the majority of the time) and so I skip the scene list.

Obviously I get cue sheets/channel listings etc from my designers and store those in my book, but there is very little I create for every single show. Soo..... what is all this paperwork that everyone else is creating?   :)
« Last Edit: Jun 14, 2011, 01:22 pm by Rebbe »