Author Topic: Talk to me about tech...  (Read 4736 times)

mkristinect

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: TPS
  • Current Gig: Freelance
  • Experience: Professional
Talk to me about tech...
« on: Sep 24, 2014, 02:42 am »
Specifically technical knowledge necessary for an SM.  I am self-taught, with good people and management skills, but zero technical knowledge.  Luckily I've been able to skate by in the few shows I have so far managed because they were grassroots companies with few design needs and/or companies with really, really good designers.  Once I ran lights for a production of Romeo and Juliet.  It consisted of a single spot with no sight and no stand so I had to point it manually and nearly caught my shirt on fire.  Another time I ran sound for Woman in Black.  It consisted of a laptop running WMP.  Super high tech.

Anyway, I'm mostly wondering if you lovely folks can point in the direction of some good resources (paper or web-based) that might help me overcome my handicap.  Thanks in advance!

Tempest

• Permanent Resident
  • Learn to love chaos, then tame it.
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: The Center For Puppetry Arts
Re: Talk to me about tech...
« Reply #1 on: Sep 24, 2014, 11:00 am »
Whew, but that's a big question. Without knowing more about your situation, it's hard to know what to tell you.

In theory, an SM with NO technical knowledge can run tech pretty well, since the designers should be doing all that tech "heavy lifting." In practice it helps a lot to know what goes into "adjusting levels," "repatching," "focusing," "EQing," "linking Qs in Qlab," etc., etc. so that you can estimate how long those tasks are going to take, and if another department can be working on something else at the same time, or if you should call a break for the actors.