Author Topic: Scheduling concerns with my director  (Read 3281 times)

JJ Hersh

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: UC Santa Cruz
  • Current Gig: Stage Management Fellow at Arena Stage
  • Experience: Professional
Scheduling concerns with my director
« on: Oct 08, 2015, 11:48 pm »
I'm currently in rehearsal for a production of Bug at my university, with a director I've never worked with before. It's a 7 week rehearsal process including dress rehearsals, with 15 hours of rehearsal a week. The director tends to take his time with things, and we haven't finished blocking any scenes at the end of the second week. He also hasn't started talking to a fight choreographer. I'm starting to get worried that not everything will be blocked in time, and potential issues with fight choreo and blood effects won't be ironed out before opening.

Is it my place as stage manager to come to him with my concerns? If so, what's the best way to approach it while still showing I respect him and his directing process?
« Last Edit: Oct 09, 2015, 12:11 am by Maribeth »

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
Re: Scheduling concerns with my director
« Reply #1 on: Oct 09, 2015, 12:30 am »
7 week rehearsal process . . .

Not blocked . . .

I wouldn't be too worried.

Not talking to fight director or figuring our blood effects, I would be more worried.

I think the best thing to do is talk to him about his process and time line - when does he expect to be blocked, when does he want to do runs, etc, etc . . . and get a sense of his pace and process.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Anything posted here as in my own personal opinion, and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of my employer - whomever they be at a given moment in time.

SMMeade

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Asst. Company Manager, HVSF