Author Topic: Potential for issues with ASM  (Read 3769 times)

clpeek

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • Casey L. Peek
  • Affiliations: Illinois State University
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Potential for issues with ASM
« on: May 27, 2010, 04:46 pm »
So I am very new to the field of stage management (i only recently switched my major and was given a title of SM).  My first full-length stage management job is for a show in our thrust space. 

Since, I am in an academic setting my assistant stage manager is chosen for me and assigned the task.  However, I am somewhat worried because the ASM that I was assigned was the stage manager for my director this past semester.  There have been occasions (mostly noted from colleagues) that it was brought to my attention that this could produce some sort of a problem.  I was wondering if this is even a case for worry? 

I have talked to my professor about it, but I would very much like to hear what some of your ideas are.  Is it necessary for me to say anything to my ASM?  Or is there anything I should do to prepare in case it becomes an issue? 
« Last Edit: Jun 26, 2010, 12:52 pm by clpeek »

damjamkato

• BTDT Editors
    • View Profile
  • Experience: High School
Re: Potential for issues with ASM
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2010, 05:50 pm »
I have been in a situation similar to this and I found that the best thing to do was to was just casually go over the responsibilities that the ASM is going to have, and the responsibilities that the SM is going to have.  Clarifying the boundaries of who does what could help him realize that he is not the one in charge, and that he will be doing a different job.  It should just appear as a friendly reminder, but it can go a long way.

Also, writing up a hard copy of the responsibilities will help "set in stone" what each of you are doing, and hopefully persuade him to do his job, not yours.

Tynumber5

• New to Town
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2010, 06:21 pm »