Author Topic: Please Help Me  (Read 7396 times)

damjamkato

• BTDT Editors
    • View Profile
  • Experience: High School
Please Help Me
« on: Oct 09, 2008, 10:41 pm »
I'm a freshman in high school, and my school is putting on Thoroughly Modern Millie.  I was asked to stage manage by the president of the school, who is directing the play.  I already have stage-managed 2 productions when i was in 7th and 8th grade, and i already know the basic gist of it.

I was just wondering about some things. 
Since I'm only a freshman, all of the upper class men who are in the cast sometimes don't listen to me or ignore me.  What should i do?

Also, i'm not sure where i should call the show from.  The theatre the high school uses is the same one the middle school uses.  when i was in 7th and 8th grade, i called the shows from the booth, which isn't that far away from the stage.  One night, my ASM couldn't make the show so i had to call it from backstage.  There was a lot of running crew cues in it, and it was completely different giving the cues from backstage as compared to the booth. there is no camera to backstage, so i can't see whats going on onstage.  What should i do.

Also, if you have any suggestions, please tell me.

Thanks

SM.Robert

• New to Town
    • View Profile
Re: Please Help Me
« Reply #1 on: Oct 10, 2008, 12:11 am »
Hi there!