Author Topic: Perfectionism  (Read 5630 times)

adekker

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Perfectionism
« on: Oct 14, 2020, 11:04 am »
Hello!

I am very new to stage managing, and have a question for those who are more experienced. I am a bit of a perfectionist and I have a tendency to want to do things my way so I know they are done right when I work in groups. As a SM, obviously you have a lot of responsibility, but you can't do absolutely everything yourself. This is why we have wonderful ASMs! However, I am nervous that I would hesitate to give my ASMs an adequate workload because I would want to make sure their jobs are done right the first time around. I would rather take on those jobs myself.

For those who are more experienced and maybe also perfectionists, how to you battle these feelings? How do you assure yourself that you don't have to do everything yourself? Any advice?

Thank you!

adam.chamness

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Re: Perfectionism
« Reply #1 on: Oct 15, 2020, 01:44 pm »