Author Topic: New to the Industry  (Read 2996 times)

fridaythe13th

• Tourist
    • View Profile
New to the Industry
« on: Aug 10, 2007, 09:51 pm »
I have always been interested in the performing arts, and recently, our church congregation have decided to write and produce a musical. I was offered the positions of not only the director, but also the playwright and stage manager. I am hoping that any experienced professional stage manager or director can lend a hand in telling me what are the basics of producing a musical and things that I need to watch out for.

I am not a professional of industry and is doing this as a personal interest. This musical will be small and free so I want to produce a low-cost musical. Because our first performance will be at the church, the stage will not be professional. However, I want to learn as much as I can about stage management and production management. We have one year to produce it.

Any suggestions and ideas will be greatly appreciated.

KMC

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Project Manager, Systems Integration
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: New to the Industry
« Reply #1 on: Aug 11, 2007, 01:30 am »
Would you assume the role of all three - playwright, director, and SM?  Or would it be one of the three?  It makes a big difference!  :)
Get action. Do things; be sane; don’t fritter away your time; create, act, take a place wherever you are and be somebody; get action. -T. Roosevelt

fridaythe13th

• Tourist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Aug 11, 2007, 03:40 am »
I would be assuming the role of ALL three. However, there will be another assistant director, ASM and producer working with me. Our resources are limited at the moment so we are taking on more roles.

sourc3

• Contributor
  • Resident Master of The Universe
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Still workin' on it
« Reply #3 on: Aug 12, 2007, 11:24 am »