Author Topic: I need some serious help!  (Read 5281 times)

boolabella

• New to Town
    • View Profile
I need some serious help!
« on: Apr 04, 2007, 02:39 am »
so i need some serious help....tonight i had the rehearsal from hell.  just to set you up, here's the deal.  i'm a bfa sm student at the university of miami and i'm in producing class.  the class is taught by broadway producer, barry brown and the purpose of the one year long course is to produce a new musical and everyone in the class has a job.  so of course i'm the stage manager and a fellow stage manager (student) is the director.  so it's a brand new work and things change, i get that.  the book writer, composer, and lyricist wouldn't sit in  a room together to work things out so big serious things like entire scenes, songs, and even characters were being argued about and changed in rehearsal in front of the actors, we didn't have an ending till a week ago.  so i was out for a week because i was very ill and the director filled in for me bc she is an sm.  so i come back a week later to find the show in complete chaos.  the actors were getting new complete scripts every night and they were not happy.  did i mention they were volunteering all their free time for this show?  anyway, the equity deputy (we're not equity but we run by equity rules) came up to me the night i got back and said the cast was extremely unhappy and ready to walk away if something doesn't change, they wanted the script frozen.  at this point we tech in two weeks and they reblocked the show 3 times because of all the changes.  so we had many meetings with the book writer and composer and lyricist and finally finalized the script, it was completely frozen.  then tonight, the director got really frustrated and broke down hysterically crying in front of the cast.  She went on and on about how she was sorry she was doing such a bad job and how she didn't know what she was doing and she had no help and no choreographer, and she had to fi