Author Topic: School or work?  (Read 6273 times)

liamproche

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AGMA
  • Current Gig: PSM-FGO
  • Experience: Professional
School or work?
« on: Feb 28, 2007, 12:30 am »
Hello everyone,
I need some advice.........I graduated, a little over a year ago from a small, community, art college with an A.A and an A.S degree in stage management (both 2yr. degrees).  Since that time I have begun working professionally instead of transferring to a university in order to get the B.F.A.  By now I have already started building my professional network as well as a pretty strong resume.  I've been thinking about returning to school in order to obtain the B.F.A in stage management, however I was wondering how vital this degree actuallty is. So far I haven't had much trouble finding work without it (knock on wood). I am still pretty young, and I realize that it would be far easier to put my career on hold now than it will be further down the line. I've put off making this decision for far too long now.  The deadline for most college theatre programs is rapidly approaching and I can't decide whether to focus my energy more on finding work for next fall, or applying to colleges.  Are there any advantages to having a 4-year degree? Or do employers focus more on professional experience? I have already spoken about this with a couple of "hardened veterans," and have recieved mixed responses. I feel the more opinions I have on the subject the better off I am in making the best decision. There are also financial considerations that come into play with going back to school. (It's nice to be getting paid for my work instead of paying someone else.) Any advice anyone would have to offer on this subject would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Liam

Jessie_K

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
    • International Stage Manager of Mystery
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA, SMA (on leave)
  • Current Gig: Queen of the Night
Re: School or work?