Author Topic: I'm an amateur and I'm working with a professional  (Read 4441 times)

Day

• Tourist
    • View Profile
I'm an amateur and I'm working with a professional
« on: Feb 17, 2008, 08:18 pm »
Hi everyone. I have a question for the more experienced among us. I started stage managing my high schools musicals and shows as a freshman. I encountered some resentment from the upperclassmen, but overall I did a really good job. The only reason why some shows survived was because of myself and especially my hard working and dedicated crew. For four years now I have been very involved in dancing, acting, working backstage, costume deigning, and set building for a community children's theatre. I just finished ASM for their winter show. Yesterday I receive a call from the artistic director who offered me a stage managing job for their spring show. I am only 16 years old. The director is a professional with a master’s degree. I don't really know how I am going to do working with her. Also, I have no idea why they want to hire me in the first place. I am talented at what I do and I throw myself into any job I am doing, but do you think they consider me cheap labor? So hear is my questions. Should I accept in the first place? If I do accept, do you guys have any advice or tips for an amateur like me working with a professional?

sievep

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AGMA
  • Experience: Professional
Re: I'm an amateur and I'm working with a professional
« Reply #1 on: Feb 17, 2008, 10:19 pm »
I absolutely think you should take the job.  If they sought YOU out based on your experience, accept, and take what you've learned and apply it at this company that is new to you.  Remember that it is not the same as your high school, so you will need to be flexible and willing to roll with the punches.  You'll be fine, I promise.  It's a learning experience and even if they do consider you cheap labor you will only learn this profession by doing it.