Author Topic: Stage Managment Colleges in NY  (Read 10159 times)

tipsofpencils

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Stage Managment Colleges in NY
« on: Nov 19, 2010, 11:10 pm »
I'm a stage manager in a community college in NYC right now. I've Stage managed a few productions in school. The time for me to transfer to a four year college is coming up. I was wondering if anyone can recommend a good SM college around NY or NYC.

nick_tochelli

• Loved and Missed.
  • Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • Nick Tochelli's Blog: The Backstage Ballet
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: PM- Godlight Theatre Company/Inside Sales:Barbizon Lighting
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Stage Managment Colleges in NY
« Reply #1 on: Nov 20, 2010, 01:01 am »
The immediate knee jerk reactions I will give is SUNY-Fredonia and SUNY-Purchase. They are two of the best schools for theater in the state college system. The only thing about Fredonia is it doesn't have a Stage Management program per se. You can (or could when I went there) create a major that is tailored to your needs. For instance, a friend I went to school with created a Technical Direction BFA major approved by the school.

Purchase has a ready made BFA. It's a conservatory vs. liberal arts like Fredonia. Being a Fredonia alum, I have an ingrained dislike of Purchase but could never be able to identify exactly what it is that I dislike about the school. But those two would be my suggestions.

Rebbe

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
« Reply #2 on: Nov 21, 2010, 11:49 am »
If we’re talking SUNY, I have to plug my alma mater SUNY Oswego.  Lots of opportunities for hands on experience, great people, and you’ll have impressive stories about the weather for years to come.   
"...allow me to explain about the theatre business. The natural condition is one of insurmountable obstacles on the road to imminent disaster."  (Philip Henslowe, Shakespeare In Love)