Author Topic: Calling attention  (Read 11575 times)

Lucyinthesky

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Calling attention
« on: Oct 28, 2007, 07:02 pm »
Ok, so I could use a little bit of help.  I feel like for my experience I'm a good stage manager in most areas, but my weakest characteristic is that I'm naturally on the shy and quiet side.  I've noticed that I've gotten a lot more comfortable addressing a large cast with every new show, which is good.  However, I'm about to start working with what will probably be the largest cast yet, and even the director needs to call that many people's attention a few times to get everyone listening (this is high school theatre, by the way, which probably adds to it since students tend to be more prone to talking excitably over each other anyway).  I was wondering if any of you used any other method of getting the attention of a large cast besides just raising your voice?
(By the way, I'm not sure exactly how many people since we haven't started yet, but probably around 50 or so)

lauria

• Link Checker Supreme!
  • Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Calling attention
« Reply #1 on: Oct 28, 2007, 07:32 pm »
I've been very tempted to get a whistle for large casts to use when it's out of control. And if I'm going to get a whistle, I want it to be a cool one, like a Bobby's whistle: http://www.musichouseshop.com/store/iw-11001.html.

Other than that, if they'll go for it, you could try one of those hand raising things like they do at camps. But high school is a difficult age to get them do do that because they don't want to look "dumb." But if it's an EXCLUSIVE drama club thing, then maybe they'll feel special and like it. :-P

erin

• Contributor
    • View Profile
    • http://www.obscure.org/~nimue/resume.html
« Reply #2 on: Oct 28, 2007, 08:51 pm »
It's annoying and would be condescending for adults, but a whistle is an effective way to get the attention of a large group of people.