Author Topic: Auditions: Open Call Auditions in NEW YORK!!?!?!  (Read 6912 times)

swellanore

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Auditions: Open Call Auditions in NEW YORK!!?!?!
« on: Mar 17, 2006, 06:46 pm »
I have just been told i will in running an open call audition in New York City, Nola Studios, Which i have never done before. the theatre i work for is in the midwest and non-eqity. I would like to know what to expect? any tips would be incrdibly helpful! I've never even been to New York City let along run an all day open call audition with New York Actors.

i need words an expeirence and wisdom!

thank you!
« Last Edit: Feb 11, 2008, 12:28 pm by PSMKay »

Amy877

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • http://www.amycthompson.com
  • Affiliations: AGMA/AEA
Open Call Auditions in NEW YORK!!?!?!
« Reply #1 on: Mar 18, 2006, 12:46 pm »
Non-union open call?  Easy gig.  

Be there 30 min early.  Set up chairs & a table.  Bring a clipboard, paper, pencils, a stapler, a fat sharpie, scotch tape, and your stopwatch (just in case).  You might need to make some ghetto directional signs:  So&So Auditions -- 3rd Floor, Studio A.

Ask the director/casting folks if they want one and a time or more, and if they'd like you to check with them before sending the next.

Get them to sign in with you as they show up.  Maintain order and have the next actor(s) ready to go.  

Know where the water fountain and restrooms are located.

Mac Calder

• Forum Moderators
  • Plan for the future, live for the now
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Live Performance Australia / Media Arts and Entertainment Alliance
  • Current Gig: Technical Director
  • Experience: Former SM
« Reply #2 on: Mar 18, 2006, 07:16 pm »
There are a few things I would check before the actual auditions too: