Author Topic: Asked to make way for a freshman?  (Read 2894 times)

bkrst275

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • My Tumblr
  • Current Gig: Opera
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Asked to make way for a freshman?
« on: Nov 19, 2014, 01:10 am »
Hi, everyone. I need your help on a difficult issue.

I am a sophomore stage management student at a small university. I have a few shows under my belt at this school, two serving as ASM, and two as SM. I am scheduled to SM a production next semester for our small, student-run company (at my school, we have 4-6 main stage shows per year through the theatre department in addition to a few other shows through a 100% student-run company). The company's PM e-mailed me asking if I would be willing to give up this position to a freshman who just changed their major to stage management. My concerns are A) Do they have enough experience to be SMing a show right away? Should they maybe ASM a show and work their way up first? And B) I was really looking forward to working on this particular production. Not only do I like the show and the people I'll be working with, but I also feel like I need more experience SMing in an educational setting before trying to find opportunities in the professional world. Will I look like a jerk if I just say no for personal reasons?

Patlienemann

• New to Town
  • Hello!
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Wayne State University
  • Current Gig: Rapture, Blister, Burn - Matrix Theatre (Detroit)
Re: Asked to make way for a freshman?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 19, 2014, 10:24 am »
I've kind of been in this situation before in university...

You raise some good points about said freshmen maybe needing to ASM first, but if the PM is confident then there is a reason he/she asked for you to give up the position.
Also, you are only a sophomore - there are two more years of SMing ahead of you.