Author Topic: Actors Talking to Designers  (Read 3227 times)

kellyaksm

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: USITT, SMA
  • Experience: Professional
Actors Talking to Designers
« on: Aug 29, 2013, 01:24 pm »
I'm a student stage manager who is also one of the props coordinators at my university. I'm currently working on props for a show with a professor who is acting in the show. This professor apparently doesn't think her character would be using props that have already been approved by the director and designer and is now contacting the props department herself to complain about some of the props. (Such as she doesn't think her character would use this type of notebook, etc.) From my work as a stage manager I know this isn't the right way to go about solving this problem but I don't know how to tell the professor this (because she should know that she should go through the stage manager). To make matters worse the stage manager for the show has never stage managed before and constantly forgets to send the prop shop notes so I don't know how long she has been upset for or if she has already tried to go through the stage manager. So how do I tell this professor (who I might work with in the future) that she needs to be going through the stage manager and director for stuff like this? And how do I help this new stage manager remember to send prop notes to me?

Jessie_K

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
    • International Stage Manager of Mystery
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA, SMA (on leave)
  • Current Gig: Queen of the Night
Re: Actors Talking to Designers
« Reply #1 on: Aug 29, 2013, 02:03 pm »
A lot of actors are very picky about their props.  I have memories of stealing a variety of stones from a gas station exterior to find the "perfect" stone for an actress in Cripple of Inishmaan.