Author Topic: Acting and Stage Management  (Read 5137 times)

madisonrachel14

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Acting and Stage Management
« on: Oct 24, 2017, 10:12 pm »
Hello, I am currently a college student planning to pursue a major in theatre. Most of my training/ emphasis has been put on performance, however, I'm very interested in exploring the other aspects of theatre including stage management. I was just wondering if anyone has personally made the transition from performer to stage manager themselves and what this experience looked like for them?

Thanks so much,

Madison

PSMKay

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.smnetwork.org
  • Affiliations: None.
  • Current Gig: SMNetwork *is* my production.
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Acting and Stage Management
« Reply #1 on: Oct 25, 2017, 06:36 am »
I started as a performer. Actually I'd gone from dancer > actor > musician > director > electrician > LD > stage manager > producer > stage manager by the time I was 19. If anything as a stage manager I regretted not spending longer on stage learning the real craft of it (as opposed to high school scenery chewing), as I needed that language to participate in table work and work with understudies.

A huge part of your job as a stage manager involves talking with performers, so knowing their language and their experience will be a definite asset. Another huge part of the job involves working with directors, who also usually emerge from performance.

PS Welcome to the site!

BayAreaSM

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • Bay Area SM
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: VP, Operations in AV Events
  • Experience: Professional
« Reply #2 on: Oct 26, 2017, 12:06 am »