Author Topic: WORK/LIFE BALANCE: Director and Stage Manager Conflicts - Help!  (Read 7619 times)

sara0521

• Tourist
    • View Profile
I have been doing Stage Crew for 3 years now. One year as crew, one as Prop Manager, and this past year I was SM. It was a huge task, I never even thought it could be so hard. My director was a nightmare, I can not even begin to explain. The woman sent me into full fledged panic attacks. The 'cant breathe, can't see, can't walk, can't talk' type. It sent me to the hospital and caused me intense amounts of stress. She is the type of director that's the 'blame everything on the stage manager! ...unless something good happens! Then its all my doing, of course!' If you're thinking it is just me, you're wrong. Another girl had a panic attack as well. Believe me when I tell you she's crazy. Now, onto the part where I need help. I LOVE Stage Crew. I love the people, the job, everything. It means the world to me and is the highlight of my high school years. I actually even met my boyfriend on stage crew, and we've been going out for over a year! Anyway, as much as I love it, I'm unsure whether or not I can handle this woman next year. Another side of it is that I want to have 4 years of crew on my applications for college. I truly do not know what to do. I need assistance ASAP. The director is now asking me to be SM for the fall drama as well! It'll be my senior year in high school. Should I suck it up and enjoy the experience, or should I sit out for my health, and lose the thing i love?

REPLY SOON!!
Sara
« Last Edit: Jun 09, 2009, 01:46 am by PSMKay »

KMC

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Project Manager, Systems Integration
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: HELP!!!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: Jul 16, 2007, 01:19 am »
It doesn't seem to me like this is a decision you need to make in the next 30 minutes.