Author Topic: PROMPT BOOK: Creating a Calling Script (meta-thread)  (Read 40249 times)

dxj

• Tourist
    • View Profile
PROMPT BOOK: Creating a Calling Script (meta-thread)
« on: Apr 09, 2006, 12:25 pm »
Hello all.  I'm an old stage manager who hasn't stage managed in years (did the producing thing for years), but now I'm back to calling a show.

I'm curious if any of you fine folks could recommend a program for creating a callbook.  I'm pretty tech savvy, but the last time I called a show my laptop weighed about 35 pounds and I did my report on a typewriter.

Rather than try and invent the wheel in the hopes of making MS Word work for me, I'm hoping somebody will have a suggestion of what might work.

The show's not huge, but also not just up and down.  About 30 sound cues, 100 LX cues, about 20 follow-spot cues, and lots of wireless mics on and off.

Thanks for any thoughts!  Comps for everybody!!

NOTE: This is now a meta-thread, consisting of at least four separate threads all merged together. - PSMK
« Last Edit: Jun 10, 2009, 03:28 am by PSMKay »

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
Callbook
« Reply #1 on: Apr 09, 2006, 05:43 pm »
I actually have found a pretty easy way to make a call script on MS word, with the callout graphic box.  It's complicated to explain, although fairly easy to do.

I can send you a copy of my current script if you shoot me an email to Matthewshiner@stagemanager.net.

Thanks
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Anything posted here as in my own personal opinion, and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of my employer - whomever they be at a given moment in time.

Mac Calder

• Forum Moderators
  • Plan for the future, live for the now
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Live Performance Australia / Media Arts and Entertainment Alliance
  • Current Gig: Technical Director
  • Experience: Former SM