Author Topic: PEOPLE: Paranoid/Offensive Director  (Read 3571 times)

kaitlinmarie

• New to Town
  • I'm too reliable for my own good. That's why I SM.
    • View Profile
PEOPLE: Paranoid/Offensive Director
« on: Apr 06, 2007, 11:28 pm »
Hello all. I'm new and in my first position as a PSM. I'm an undergrad in college, and started ASMing earlier this year. My issue currently is that my Director (a 2nd Year Directing MFA) is paranoid, offensive, and just down right over stepping his boundaries. He's a nice enough guy but he is constantly telling me that people in the hierarchy of our School of Theater have "lied" to me about such issues and keys, rehearsal spaces, and rehearsal blocks. I've been in acting for 14 years and have never had to deal with someone such as my current Director. We're less than 2 weeks into rehearsal and he has offend most of the cast, all of our production team, and is just downright rude to myself and my ASM.

For the first few days, I just assumed that he was still feeling myself and my ASM out, and by that I mean figuring out just how much he could trust us to accomplish. Neither of us as slipped up, forgotten anything, or lost one bit of info. In fact, we're usually about 10 steps ahead of what he's expecting of us, and my ASM and I are both more than willing to apologize and take the blame if we do make a mistake. I've tried speaking to him and the Director of our School of Theater, but have not been able to accomplish anything.