Author Topic: PEOPLE: Help! Beastly show and actor!!!  (Read 22338 times)

J

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
Re: Help! Beastly show and actor!!!
« Reply #15 on: Jul 18, 2008, 03:14 pm »
since my job is take abuse. 

Sorry Matthew, I really disagree with this.  Yes, as stage managers, we remain calm and sometimes have people take anger out on us. But to let actors yell AT me for inappropriate reasons, I'm going to stand up for myself. It's a workplace and we deserve the same respect that anyone else does.  I'm speaking directly about being yelled AT instead of TO. Of course situations will come up where the yelling at is deserved, like you example with forgetting to make notes about the pony, but I'm not going to be walked all over and abused when it's out of line.

I'm a stage manager, not a punching bag. My job is to communicate to all departments, keep the process moving smoothly, track all production elements of the show, record notes, etc.  It does not include getting reamed for no reason at all.

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
« Reply #16 on: Jul 18, 2008, 03:22 pm »
but what if there is a reason?

Maybe I am very old school about about this, but i do see it as part of my job.  I get paid a lot of money, more then anyone else in the room for my job.  If people can blow off some steam at me, someone who is used to it - rather then 1) blow up at other actors, 2)blow up at the director, 3)quit (because replacing an actor is much worse then being yelled at).  I am not talking about abuse here, this is the sort of the typical blows up that happen.  Even when people yell at me, I never think it's out of lack of respect it is out of desperation - and like I said, I am finding more and more that when they yell - it's towards me not at me (and when it's at me - I'll be the first to admit it's my fault).