Author Topic: MORALE: There may be trouble ahead....! (Losing interest in the job)  (Read 5766 times)

shoos

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Hello! Well, they do say a problem shared & all that!... So here goes! I've been working in Stage Management, for coming up to 10 years now ( when September rolls round that'll be 10!!) and for the past three years I've been touring with various productions & its just begun to dawn horribly on me that, well how else to describe it I think I've lost the joy in it! I'm not sure if its just the fact that the tour I'm currently on seems to be taking over my life!!!!! Anyway - rant over! - I suppose I'm asking the question, is a long term career possible in this industry, without having to sacrifice family, friends etc, I know its sounds a little like self indulgent rubbish, but at the moment I could do with any pearls of wisdom that you have to offer about trying to sort out that work - life balance thing!! Cheers guys x
« Last Edit: Jun 09, 2009, 12:28 am by PSMKay »

LisaEllis

Re: There may be trouble ahead....!
« Reply #1 on: Apr 26, 2007, 09:01 pm »
This is definitely a question we (and many theatre professionals) face.  It often surrounds the family, kids, home life situation, and can seem to be a daunting either/or proposition.

I currently freelance, which means I'm away from home a month, or 2 or 3, at a time.  I have to make decisions (and stick with them!) about how many contracts to take and when.  My husband has been a good sport about it thus far, and I'm finally settling into a routine of companies I work for.  But I have to decide when to be home and temp instead of taking another contract.

I think the job stays fresh for me because I'm always somewhere new, working with new people.  And the time off between gives me some at home time and lets me still look forward to the next job.