Author Topic: REHEARSALS: Fight Notation  (Read 16132 times)

amandaackovitz

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • LinkedIn
  • Experience: Professional
REHEARSALS: Fight Notation
« on: Nov 19, 2012, 03:44 am »
Hi y'all!

This past summer, I worked on a production of King Lear and found myself running my very first fight rehearsals (I was an SM intern). The fight choreographer was very kind and incredibly patient with me while I tried to wrap my head around everything, but the experience really opened my eyes to a weakness of mine: I know nothing about stage combat, much less how to notate it in a blocking script.

How do y'all take fight notation?

Edit to add topic tag. - Maribeth
« Last Edit: Feb 11, 2013, 08:24 pm by Maribeth »

nick_tochelli

• Loved and Missed.
  • Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • Nick Tochelli's Blog: The Backstage Ballet
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: PM- Godlight Theatre Company/Inside Sales:Barbizon Lighting
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Fight Notation
« Reply #1 on: Nov 19, 2012, 09:13 am »
The lazy answer: You don't! That's what a fight captain is for!  ;) (That's not really true....don't take that piece of "advice" to heart!)