Author Topic: Anybody with sporting event/Olympics experience?  (Read 4163 times)

missliz

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
    • Personal Site
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Professional
Anybody with sporting event/Olympics experience?
« on: May 06, 2010, 01:50 pm »
So I just got all the details...I'll be heading to Milan for 10 days at the end of June to work with Special Olympics Italy! Special Olympics has always been my favorite cause, and I'm thrilled to be working with them. But I have NO experience with something of this size. From what I understand, a lot of my job is going to be shuttling people around, getting them organized for opening and closing ceremonies, and just keeping teams moving (I'll be dealing with tennis.) Any tips about this type of event or even working in Italy would be a great help!
I personally would like to bring a tortoise onto the stage, turn it into a racehorse, then into a hat, a song, a dragon and a fountain of water. One can dare anything in the theatre and it is the place where one dares the least. -Ionesco

dewitt

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Hope college dance dept, Heritage Theatre Group
  • Experience: Community Theatre
Re: Anybody with sporting event/Olympics experience?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2010, 02:09 pm »
Missliz, Thank you with all my heart for taking this job. I have a nephew with down syndrome and he loves to swim and bowl in Special Olympics. It is a wonderful organization that gives happiness to so many people. I don't have any travel advice to give you but I hope it turns out to be a positive experience for you. It never occurred to me that they would need stage managers for their events. Now I can explore a new way to get involved with our local and state chapters. Good luck!

SMrose

• Permanent Resident
  • all the world's a stage
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, IATSE
  • Current Gig: Technical Support Services @ Lenoir-Rhyne University
  • Experience: Former SM