Author Topic: New here!  (Read 2360 times)

SwartzG

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Nunsense, Orillia Stage Company
  • Experience: Community Theatre
New here!
« on: May 07, 2014, 12:43 am »
Hello! I'm new here, and I just discovered this site today.

I will be heading off to Sheridan College this fall for my first year, taking Technical Production for Theater and Live Events program.

How ever, I have been in contact with my local theater companies here where I live. There is a brand new one that just started. I have been in contact with the president and founding director of the staging company. How ever, tomorrow afternoon, I have an interview to uphold a position of, well you name it, stage manager. I never stage managed before (have some ASM experience), and I can see there is a lot of responsibility in being stage manager, and I do not know where to start!

Since I am taking a big leap here into something I have little experience in, I will be lurking and posting and requesting some help in terms of stage management! So all the help I can get will be very grateful and appreciated! Thanks in advance!

All of this will help me be ready for school this coming fall with a lot of knowledge gained and I hope my experience in this production, as well as from this forum, will help me strive ahead of my soon-to-be peers and be a role model in my classes.

I am looking forward to this great adventure with you all. I will also, if enough people would like me to, post my ongoing progress, like a journal, of things I have learned, applied, and made mistakes and what I have done to correct it.

Break a leg!

« Last Edit: May 07, 2014, 12:46 am by SwartzG »
A barrier only stretches so far...

Maribeth

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: New here!
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2014, 08:58 pm »