Author Topic: Introduction to Me!  (Read 3365 times)

jmclarke

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Dubai Parks and Resorts
  • Experience: Professional
Introduction to Me!
« on: Dec 16, 2014, 05:09 pm »
Hello, my name is Jenna Clarke. I am a recent graduate of UNLV in Las Vegas, Nevada. I generally work on community productions for various companies, and have been for the last 8 years, although I also have experience working as much as I can in college productions as well.
I am joining this network in order to learn as much as I can from seasoned professionals, as I am finding it rather hard to break into the "professional" circuit here in Vegas. I've had more than a good share of interviews, but the answer is always the same- and always seems to be due my level of "experience", or as I'm told, lack there of.

Maribeth

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Introduction to Me!
« Reply #1 on: Dec 17, 2014, 10:13 am »
Hi and welcome, Jenna!

It can be hard to get those first few jobs. Have you considered an internship to gain experience? Or, applying for a lower-level position like production assistant? Do you have any connections from your university that you can use to help you get those first few jobs?

Check out the Employment board- it's got lots of info for job seekers.

jmclarke

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Dubai Parks and Resorts
« Reply #2 on: Dec 17, 2014, 02:01 pm »
Hi Maribeth, thank you for the warm welcome!

I have considered internships, but unfortunately am finding it hard to be considered for them since I am no longer a student. I considered re-enrolling in order to finish my minor, but found that it wouldn't help as I am supposed to be seeking a degree in Theatre in order to be considered for most if not all internships. I am applying anyway, however.

Also, yes I have worked as a production assistant on various occasions, both for film and theatre.