Author Topic: Hello!!! Northern Jersey/NYC Stage Manager  (Read 1585 times)

salbano

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
Hello!!! Northern Jersey/NYC Stage Manager
« on: Jul 14, 2013, 12:05 am »
Hello!

I figured I would post here. I've been meaning to (and even told by a moderator too!), but... I don't know what's been keeping me from doing it.

Well, anyway, I just teched a show today. And it was absolutely awful. Well, not awful because we got everything done! We did. And that's awesome. But I just need to vent at what I did badly and what's going in my mind. Okay? (It was five hours in a space we never saw before!)

I'm just out of college, and still trying to see how everything flows and goes together, and tech is always a huge ordeal. This was my first post-graduate tech, and... it didn't go too smoothly. I was unprepared with a lot, but I also was working with a new director (obviously!), and as I'm new at this, I didn't really discuss how we were going to do tech beforehand. He started taking the reigns, and I feel like he did that because he thought I couldn't. And I didn't take them back because I didn't want an upset director (which ruins tech!). It was a chicken and egg thing.

So I was upset about that.

Also, I was in the booth making both the sound and light cues. Creating the light cues and fixing the sound levels. So on top of all of the added pressure of trying to get through tech, I had to make the light and sound cues and write them all in my book.