Author Topic: Hello From an Accidental Stage Manager!  (Read 2332 times)

SMSarah

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Hello From an Accidental Stage Manager!
« on: Sep 21, 2013, 12:31 am »
Hello!  I've been lurking on this site for a while and finally decided to join.  My name is Sarah, and I am a recent college graduate currently stage managing for both a community theatre and a professional (non-equity) children's theatre (adult actors, young audiences) in CT.  I fell into stage management by accident- my freshman year of college I joined the student theatre group and was asked to ASM one of their shows.  The day before auditions the SM had to drop out due to illness and I was asked to SM, even though my only SM experience was from a project in a theatre class I had taken (we had a very small department!)  I had a blast and never looked back!   

I would like to learn how to be more of a professional stage manager since most of my experience has been with student theatre. 

Thank you!

megf

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Former SM
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Hello From an Accidental Stage Manager!
« Reply #1 on: Sep 21, 2013, 12:40 pm »
Welcome, Sarah! I'm working in CT for the next few months - send me a PM :)

Maribeth

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Former SM
« Reply #2 on: Sep 21, 2013, 07:05 pm »
Hi and welcome, Sarah!

ReyYaySM

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Freelance
  • Experience: Professional
« Reply #3 on: Oct 01, 2013, 08:38 am »