Author Topic: Hello!  (Read 1514 times)

VickyR

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Hello!
« on: Sep 21, 2014, 02:51 am »
Hello from Texas! I'm currently a student at Texas A&M and new to the theatre world. I started participating in the theatre productions here at my university during my sophomore year. I have stage managed once and ASM'd probably 3 or 4 times. I've become very interested in pursuing a career in stage management ever since! I will graduate this year and I am scared but excited about going out there to pursue my stage management career  :) I've been looking into apprenticeships and fellowships (though I'm not really sure what the difference is). I am really interested in wanting to do touring productions (or maybe even go abroad if possible) but I'm not sure where to start. I am also a bit confused as to how equity works. Help! 

jlunsford

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: EMC
  • Current Gig: The Memorandum with Oklahoma City University
Re: Hello!
« Reply #1 on: Sep 21, 2014, 04:00 pm »
Equity can be a pretty big pill to swallow but there are lots of AEA members on here. I am currently at Oklahoma City University for Stage Management (although I am from San Antonio, Texas) and took a class last semester that completely focuses on Theatrical Unions. I also worked with an Equity theatre last semester through the school and joined the Equity Membership Candidacy program. I'm certainly no expert but I would be happy to either talking to you about what I know about the AEA or point you to where you may find answers to whatever you may be confused about. :)

Exterminate!
Jamie

VickyR

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Re: Hello!
« Reply #2 on: Sep 21, 2014, 08:38 pm »