Author Topic: Question about invoicing  (Read 3029 times)

KimiKay

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Question about invoicing
« on: Apr 13, 2008, 07:46 pm »
Hi all,

This is my first new post on this forum, I have been reading and learning for about a year now, but this is my first new post.

I have stage-managed about 7 shows, most of them for local community theaters, so while I do get paid sometimes it has not been a professional thing. I am also a student at Cal State Fullerton.

So I just took on my first real professional job, so here is my question. I was approached about this job by the lighting designer, when he told me about the job he mentioned that the pay was negotiable but was x amount. I gave him my resume he passed it along and ultimately I was hired. Today I was contacted by production manager today, to fill out a few forms and he asked me to send an invoice. I am not sure what to do because I never discussed the amount with him, should I just bill for the same amount that the lighting designer mentioned? Or should I ask the production manager and if I do that how should I ask? Since this is my first professional show, I want to make the right impression, and not seem like I don’t know what to do, ya know? Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Celeste_SM

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
Re: Question about invoicing
« Reply #1 on: Apr 15, 2008, 01:25 am »
I would bill whatever you discussed with the lighting designer.  When you hand off the invoice, emphasize that they should feel free to contact you should there be any questions.

KimiKay

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
« Reply #2 on: Apr 15, 2008, 01:32 am »
Thank you for the input! I appriciate it!

KMC

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Project Manager, Systems Integration
  • Experience: Former SM
« Reply #3 on: Apr 15, 2008, 09:03 am »