Author Topic: Phone interview for opera company  (Read 8270 times)

reneelibra

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Austin Lyric Opera, Opera Parallele, Hidden Valley Opera, Festival Opera, Siren Project
  • Current Gig: Tosca: ASM with Austin Lyric Opera
  • Experience: Professional
Phone interview for opera company
« on: Nov 28, 2012, 01:31 am »
My stage manager mentor suggested I apply for an ASM position at an opera company out of state.  I graduated from school very recently (spring) and am surprised to see an email asking for a phone interview.  I stage managed four operas at the university and was an ASM for two other productions with local opera companies. 
I am nervous because I still feel very inexperienced even if I am very capable.  I am asking if anyone has any advice for phone interviews, (I have never done one), if it is different because I currently live out of state, and if there are any questions I should not forget to ask.   Very excited, but incredibly nervous.  :) 

BLee

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
    • BrandyLee Hatcher, SM
  • Affiliations: University of California-Irvine, Graduate SM, Class of '13
  • Current Gig: Assistant Stage Manager at Disneyland Resorts
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Re: Phone interview for opera company
« Reply #1 on: Nov 28, 2012, 01:40 am »
1) Have a copy of your resume and any materials you submit to the company prior to the interview. They may ask questions related to these materials and you want to have the information right in front of you. Same advice applies to any questions you have to ask them. Write them down so you don't forget to ask. And write down the name of the person who calls you so you remember.

2) Try to have a distraction-free space with minimal noise and aim for a good phone signal if you are using a cell phone. There is nothing worse than getting disconnected mid-interview.