Author Topic: Leaving a job  (Read 7592 times)

Joshua S.

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AGMA
  • Current Gig: Asst. Production Manager - Mason Gross School of the Arts
  • Experience: Professional
Leaving a job
« on: Aug 20, 2008, 06:11 pm »
Hi.  I've always valued the information I've optained on this forum, and I would like to get others opinions on my current situation.

I'm currently an intern (even though intern really isn't the best description for my job) at one of the largest community theatres in the nation.  I am just begining my second season with the company, and I am considering leaving.  I have alot of reasons for wanting to leave ranging from hating the upcoming season, not liking the area of the country the company is located in, to purely not wanting to be a stage manager anymore.  I basically don't think I am doing what is best for me at this time in my life.

I guess what I would like peoples opinions on is how detrimental will this be to my career.  I don't plan on stage managing again, at least not for awhile, but I do want to stay in theatre.  I'm hoping to work on my lighting and sound design portfolio the rest of the season and hopefully go to grad school for that.

I keep going back and forth on whether to stay or whether to leave and what the best decision would be, and would love some of everyones input.

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
Re: Leaving a job
« Reply #1 on: Aug 20, 2008, 07:26 pm »
Breaking a contract without adequate notice will almost always reflect negatively on you - but giving enough notice, offering to to train a replacement, and working on making your transition out the door easier . . . all will help.

Giving legit reasons to back out - like what you have written here - also helps.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -