Author Topic: Honest Opinion: Can I Make This Happen?  (Read 7733 times)

lilyinlalaland

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Honest Opinion: Can I Make This Happen?
« on: Jul 10, 2011, 11:10 am »
Hi everyone!  I've been reading these boards for a while, but just joined today!  I'm currently a student, but since my question is most directly related to employment, I thought I should post it here.

Basically, I'm wondering if you think I've got a shot at a career, given my background, and if not, what do I have to change?  So, here goes:

I came to SM later than some, starting this past year as a freshman in college.  However, I quickly made a name for myself, and stage managed two very challenging productions, both with long rehearsal periods and large companies, and one smaller, site-specific piece.  I got many offers for the next academic year, and am currently planning to SM two plays, a very technically-complicated concert, and a large-scale dance performance.  In addition to SMing, I do some production management work and direct, and also take on some tech jobs like board-operating.  Over summers, I have interned (and continue to do so) in professional theatres in NYC in producing/administration/ASM-type roles.

BUT, my school is a liberal arts college, and I'm going to get a theatre degree, not a stage management one.  Will this prevent me from being able to have a career in SM? 

I really do want your honest opinions, everyone!  And if this is the wrong board for this, then feel free to move it to the appropriate spot.

Joshua S.

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AGMA
  • Current Gig: Asst. Production Manager - Mason Gross School of the Arts
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Honest Opinion: Can I Make This Happen?
« Reply #1 on: Jul 10, 2011, 11:22 am »
YES!  Of course you can start a career in stage management.