Author Topic: Guaranteed Summer Stock vs. Potential Internships  (Read 6309 times)

southernsoprano

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Guaranteed Summer Stock vs. Potential Internships
« on: Mar 12, 2016, 01:27 am »
Hello all! I'm in a majorly stressful, time-sensitive bind, and could really use some advice.

So I'm a sophomore in college who just got into stage management this year (but I've always been in love with theatre + planned on working in the theatre industry in some capacity, so I've got a solid knowledge base). I need something to do this summer to build my SM résumé, since it's currently pretty slim.

Here's my problem: I've been spending my entire spring break writing cover letters for internships this summer - some of them definite reaches, and some that my production management professor thinks I have a decent shot at getting. BUT I just got offered an ASM gig for a small regional theatre festival. It's a month of work, $300/week plus overtime, and housing is included. Which is all unquestionably awesome, but I worry that I won't learn very much, since the show is so small (cast of two people) and it would only occupy a month of my entire summer. And while I absolutely welcome every learning opportunity that comes my way, I can't help but wonder if I should be doing better. I have to take the job or decline it by Monday.