Author Topic: Freelancing - How far out do you commit?  (Read 4136 times)

planetmike

• SM Expert
  • @planetmike
    • View Profile
    • Michael Clark, Stage Manager
  • Experience: Community Theatre
Freelancing - How far out do you commit?
« on: Jun 24, 2009, 08:01 am »
I am a freelancing stage manager, early in my career. Talking with other theater people has revealed some don't plan their next show until their current show opens, while others have plans/commitments for the next 18 months. Right now I'm booked through January 2010, so 7 months out. How far is too far to commit? All of my current commitments are with community theaters or volunteering at professional theaters, but I want to start applying with the professional/paid groups in the area. What is a reasonable planning horizon?

missliz

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
    • Personal Site
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Freelancing - How far out do you commit?
« Reply #1 on: Jun 24, 2009, 10:08 am »
I'm used to committing to a show about 1-2months in advance, unless it's a long-term contract (summer stock or fall stock, for example). The shows that I've committed to further out than that were pretty high-paying/high-profile gigs where I probably wasn't going to find anything better down the road. :)
I personally would like to bring a tortoise onto the stage, turn it into a racehorse, then into a hat, a song, a dragon and a fountain of water. One can dare anything in the theatre and it is the place where one dares the least. -Ionesco

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
« Reply #2 on: Jun 24, 2009, 10:31 am »
When I was freelancing, the most I scheduled was 18 months out . . . BUT, I hate the fact that I was scheduled that far out - - - I missed some wonderful opportunities of shows that popped up - and I didn't want break my word.