Author Topic: Freelance, Non-AEA - need insurance?  (Read 3085 times)

Celeste_SM

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
Freelance, Non-AEA - need insurance?
« on: Oct 12, 2012, 07:44 pm »
I've been a freelance stage manager for about 15 years. Sometimes I work for a company, sometimes I work for a building/venue, usually as a non-employee contractor. 

Oddly, until this year, nobody has asked me whether I carry liability insurance. This year it came up twice  - once for me, and once for my husband who is a freelance master electrician.

So what do other stage managers do? I'm working very infrequently due to having a new baby, but prior to having the child I did about 8 shows/year working for community theater companies, dance schools, regular schools, community opera, and ballet companies. Should I have had insurance all these years?

loebtmc

• View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SAG, AFTRA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Caroling, caroling now we go — and looking for my next gig!
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Freelance, Non-AEA - need insurance?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 12, 2012, 09:32 pm »
Honestly, I think it's their responsibility to insure you, not yours. When I work non-AEA (we have this 99-seat animal out here) or when I do convention work, the folks who hire me pay the insurance and are responsible shd anything untoward happen.

KMC

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Project Manager, Systems Integration
  • Experience: Former SM
« Reply #2 on: Oct 12, 2012, 09:33 pm »
While having professional liability insurance would never be a bad thing, it doesn't seem like it's a necessity in your case, especially if you're not working frequently due to your child (congratulations, by the way!).  It would certainly be an asset, however it would increase your cost and likely necessitate a rate increase on your end.