Author Topic: Hand/head sets for light use in Spain  (Read 2936 times)

bobinspain

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Hand/head sets for light use in Spain
« on: Jun 29, 2010, 03:32 am »
Hi,

I'm SM for an amateur group in Almeria, Spain. We have the use of several local theatres, but all have no phones or comms equipment. We would like to buy handsets for the SM, ASM, FOH and Tech with option to add headsets, but I have no experience of using or buying such equipment.

We do 4/5 productions a year so they wouldn't get heavy use, but I would hope to get decent quality units on a budget of around £450.00.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Bob  :)
« Last Edit: Jun 29, 2010, 10:45 am by PSMKay »

kiwitechgirl

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Hand/head sets for light use in Spain
« Reply #1 on: Jun 29, 2010, 04:38 pm »
Are you after radios or wired comms?  Radios have the disadvantage that only one person can speak at once, and until they've released the talk button anything that anyone else says won't be heard - this is able to be overcome with good comms etiquette, but it is a pain.  The disadvantage of wired comms is that you'll have to run cables in every time you use them - but they're more reliable and you don't have the one person talking issue of radios.  Can I suggest you go over to www.blue-room.org.uk and have a search there - we've had many, many discussions about comms over there, probably in much more detail than you'll find here!

Mac Calder

• Plan for the future, live for the now
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Live Performance Australia / Media Arts and Entertainment Alliance
  • Current Gig: Technical Director
  • Experience: Former SM
« Reply #2 on: Jun 30, 2010, 04:54 am »