Author Topic: Excel for rehearsal scheduling or other program?  (Read 4090 times)

bound4bway

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Community Theatre
Excel for rehearsal scheduling or other program?
« on: Jan 21, 2014, 10:39 am »
Hello,

I have used this forum a numerous times looking for answers to problems, but this is my first time posting!  I work for a community theater organization and in the last two years our membership and number of people doing our shows has grown a ton.  We were averaging 10-20 people in a production and are now averaging 40-60.

Because of this it is getting increasingly hard for me to figure out rehearsal schedules with 50 peoples conflicts.

Does anyone know of a program or an excel formula that I can use that would work something like this?

Input dates and times of rehearsal
input scenes and who is in each scene
input all conflicts
have it tell me the dates that everyone in a certain scene can be there

I know there has to be a way to do it in excel, but I am just not that great at manipulating it that much. 

Thanks!

iamchristuffin

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • www.christuffin.co.uk
  • Affiliations: UK SMA, UK Equity
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Excel for rehearsal scheduling or other program?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 21, 2014, 12:48 pm »
Off the top of my head, I can't think of a way to do it, without making a long, complicated formula using IF, NOT & AND....

Unless you use 'IF' with conditional formatting or something to highlight conflicts...

Sorry, thinking aloud!

However, www.doodle.com is sort of the thing I'm imagining. Could you use that in the interim?

C

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
« Reply #2 on: Jan 21, 2014, 12:57 pm »
The issue always come down to the "human fudge" factor.