Author Topic: Digital Show Binder  (Read 10322 times)

PSMKay

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.smnetwork.org
  • Affiliations: None.
  • Current Gig: SMNetwork *is* my production.
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Digital Show Binder
« Reply #15 on: Aug 15, 2011, 12:17 am »
I entered tech theatre at a time when digital light boards had already taken Broadway and were starting to permeate into educational culture. My college had one theatre with an ETC digital board, one with a very early programmable board, and one with a two-scene analog preset board.  (This was great as it allowed me to learn how to run both digital and manual boards!)  As I moved from college into the Chicago scene, the pro theatres generally had digiboards and the community theatres had manual boards, although over the course of the years that I worked in the industry here the balance tipped more and more in favor of the digital boards.  It also shifted gradually from multiple patches per dimmer to the now commonplace circuit-per-dimmer style of plugging.

I did not see much resistance, short of cost, in the implementation of digital technology on the lighting end and I don't see stage managers keeping manual boards as "backup" in the booth or backstage just in case the digital boards fail.  And they do - I had a couple crash on me at very bad times and we've discussed workarounds for these types of incidents before.  The designer would usually give me a backup disk and a printout of the cues but other than that it went to full digital very very quickly.