Author Topic: What is the difference between working under Equity and not?  (Read 4710 times)

drgnguilbeau

• Tourist
    • View Profile
I am kind of new to SMing and I hear people talking about how you have to have enough experience before joining Equity and how you will give up the "perks" of a non-Equity theatre. I have also heard that if you don't have enough experience when you join, then you won't be able to work...how is that? I just want to know what all this means. Please clue me in.

Thanks

kjdiehl

• Permanent Resident
  • The Turtle Moves.
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
What is the difference between working under Equity and not?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 19, 2006, 10:35 pm »
Wow. That's kind of a larger question than I think you realize. First, I'd offer this. It sounds like you're definitely not yet at the point to worry about considering joining AEA. Get another year or two under your belt and I guarantee A LOT of your questions will be answered.

In the meantime, I'd say there are goods and bads to both joining and not joining the union- it depends on your point of view. It is true that it's probably foolhardy to join the union with little to no experience. Because while you may be able to get that first job, it's very unlikely that other producers will want to hire you if there's almost nothing on your resume. So yeah, I'd say wait, work on as many shows as you can, (you can be a non-union ASM on most Equity productions and get lots of experience that way!) and see where that takes you.

Good luck!
-Kris Diehl, AEA SM

"Somewhere in the city there's a stage manager waiting,
standing in the shadows with a clipboard in hand..."

drgnguilbeau

• Tourist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Jan 20, 2006, 12:10 am »
thanks for your advice!

ERK

• Contributor
    • View Profile
    • http://
« Reply #3 on: Jan 20, 2006, 04:12 pm »