Author Topic: Non-AEA PA pay for tech?  (Read 3602 times)

pandora12

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
Non-AEA PA pay for tech?
« on: Dec 10, 2013, 10:03 pm »
Any of the current or former non-equity Production Assistants's out there ever get a tech-bump or additional pay to compensate for the extra hours worked during tech and previews? I know it's part of the Equity contract, but the PA is putting in all the extra hours as their union coworkers but without additional pay.  (This would apply to PA's that are paid weekly rather than hourly).  Thanks, wondering how some other companies address it.

ejsmith3130

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: EMC
  • Current Gig: Coordinating a Move to Napaskiak AK- Harder than any show I've ever done!
Re: Non-AEA PA pay for tech?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 11, 2013, 12:26 am »
I work as a non equity ASM and have never received a bump for tech. My contracts are clear and negotiated so that the only bumps I ever get are ones for added shows. I have worked for separate weekly rates for rehearsals vs. show weeks, but tech has always been lumped into rehearsals.

BARussell

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Assistant to the Producers at Goodspeed Musicals
« Reply #2 on: Dec 11, 2013, 01:27 am »
Nope not when paid weekly, for hourly companies obviously yes, depending on the environment my only suggestion would be to negotiate it into the contract...
"We don't negotiate with weirdos!"

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
« Reply #3 on: Dec 11, 2013, 11:08 am »
The weekly pay of PA's does not typically have a legal leg to stand on, and although I am sure laws very by states to state, but there are typical labor laws that do stand.