Author Topic: Dear Abbey...  (Read 3945 times)

VSM

• View Profile
    • http://www.vernonwillet.com
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: PSM - Laguna Playhouse
  • Experience: Professional
Dear Abbey...
« on: Jul 23, 2011, 05:10 pm »
This from an anonymous member...

A theater I frequently work with emailed recently saying they have a stage reading coming up and the staff person who was going to SM has backed out, and would I please fill in for the three days of the rehearsals and the actual reading for x dollars.  I've never done a stage reading before, but it is with a director I like and a playwright I've worked with before, so I said yes to get the experience and to help out (warning sign right there, right?).

I read the Stage Reading Contract and noticed that what they have set aside to pay me is less than the min weekly rate listed on the contract.  They're taking care of the prep work, I'm just showing up for the rehearsals and running the actual reading.  Given that, I'm not sure how they plan to contract me, they can't very well have me sign a contract saying their paying me less than the minimum, but I imagine that they also can't just cut me a check and do the reading without a stage manager's name attached.

Thoughts?  The more I think about the sketchier it feels.  Has anyone else been in a situation like this before, any recommendations, or is there something I'm missing since I'm unfamiliar with staged readings?

Thanks.
Ordo ab chao

loebtmc

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SAG, AFTRA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Caroling, caroling now we go — and looking for my next gig!
Re: Dear Abbey...
« Reply #1 on: Jul 23, 2011, 05:57 pm »