Author Topic: Actor Notes - After opening  (Read 14106 times)

dee4156

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: CAEA, AEA
  • Experience: Professional
Actor Notes - After opening
« on: Nov 10, 2008, 10:13 am »
Hey guys.. just wanted to get some more ideas on this. I've been SMing professionally for 20 years under both AEA and Canadian Equity. I give actors notes right at the half hour (or the "35 min half") and privately, and in person. I feel it's a more effective way to communicate rather than email unless it's a technical thang. What I've heard though over the last few places that I've been at is actors grumbling about stage managers who "never give notes". It is actually rare that I do give acting notes though since if I do notice something, 9 times out of 10, the actor feels it too and self-corrects without me reminding them of the off-night.
I guess I just want to poll people and find out how often you give acting notes. And I'm not talking about the casual, "How'd it go for you" green room banter.  Sensitive topic, I know.
Thanks,
dee
"Life is tough, but it's tougher if you're stupid" ~John Wayne

Jessie_K

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
    • International Stage Manager of Mystery
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA, SMA (on leave)
  • Current Gig: Queen of the Night
Re: Actor Notes - After opening
« Reply #1 on: Nov 10, 2008, 12:12 pm »
I give notes, I try to phrase them more as a conversation starter than a correction.  Though if a correction is due, I give said correction.  Even if something is off once, I will usually bring it up just in case.  Sometimes people respond well, sometimes they don't.  I try not to take it personally when an actor objects to the principle of an SM giving notes.

Tempest

• Permanent Resident
  • Learn to love chaos, then tame it.
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: The Center For Puppetry Arts
« Reply #2 on: Nov 10, 2008, 03:16 pm »