Author Topic: Was I out of Line?  (Read 4918 times)

salbano

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
Was I out of Line?
« on: Apr 22, 2014, 12:32 am »
So right now I'm stage managing a completely improvised play for my college. [I'm an alumn that graduate last year.] (It's like a long form improv show, but it has a set, lights, a musician, and all of that. Basically, if you didn't know it was an improv show and walked in ten minutes late, you'd think it was a play.)

Anyway, I'm also operating lights for the show. So in addition to being a stage manager, I'm the light board operator.

Now, we're still in rehearsals, and tonight we did a run of the show. It was decent. Whatever.

After the run, the director wanted to work on some stuff with the actors. And we did stuff. And it was fine.

Then this happens. Stage is dark. I put light USL. Actor starts walking USL, then decides to go USR. I then fade out USL and put light USR. Then actor decides to go back USL, so I switched again. (Fine, that happens. It's improv. That happens.) Then the director makes a comment about this to the actor. Then the actor says, "I was just pacing waiting for the music, I was still going to stay USL. I didn't need the USR lights."

I respond, immediately and slightly sarcastically, "Well, if you didn't keep on missing your lights during the run, I wouldn't have thought you missed this one."

The director says out loud to me, "Remember he's a student."

And that's the situation that I'm talking about. Nothing too big. Nothing awful, but the director saying that to me made me feel really crappy for a lot of reasons.

Because even if I said my comment more sarcastically than what I remembered, I still think it was a valid criticism. I wasn't making up that he missed lights during the run. And I do have a sarcastic personality, that's kind of my thing.

I don't know. I just needed to vent. Thanks!

loebtmc

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile