Author Topic: Stage Management Handbook  (Read 7745 times)

TwoBallz1Stryke

• Tourist
  • Stage Management BFA - University of Illinois
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: University of Illinois, Level 21, Station Theatre, Krannert Center of Performing Arts, Urbana Park District
  • Current Gig: Asst. Stage Manager for the February Dance Concert with Dance at Illinois
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Stage Management Handbook
« on: Sep 06, 2011, 01:26 pm »
I'm just curious what people think is a good book on stage management. Or even a book stage managers should read, maybe dealing with communication or stress or really anything.

Any help would be appreciated.  I'm a sophomore transfer SM BFA at the U of I, and they don't use any book here for SMs. Not that I think that's anything bad, I just like reading.  :P

-------
(Edited excess font effects out for readability ~T_G)
« Last Edit: Sep 06, 2011, 02:19 pm by tempest_gypsy »
~Kendall Johnson~
BFA Stage Management '14
February Dance - Asst. Stage Manager
Assassins - Stage Manager/Choreographer
Kabuki Lady Macbeth - Production Asst.
Paradises Lost - Asst. Stage Manager

loebtmc

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SAG, AFTRA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Caroling, caroling now we go — and looking for my next gig!
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Stage Management Handbook
« Reply #1 on: Sep 06, 2011, 02:18 pm »
If you do a search on this site you will see many discussions of people's favorite books (and even why, in some cases). That'd be a great starting point.

planetmike

• SM Expert
  • @planetmike
    • View Profile
    • Michael Clark, Stage Manager
  • Experience: Community Theatre
« Reply #2 on: Sep 06, 2011, 03:25 pm »
I recently helped out two different people who are stage managing their first shows. These are the books I’ve read, and can recommend. If you’re just starting out, start with the less expensive ones, and work your way up as you get more experience.